Hello [new] World

Photo by courtesy of NASA

Photo by courtesy of NASA

I have been thinking of writing a blog for some time. About ten or so years ago I used to communicate my random thoughts to my NeXT computer from time to time, never intending to publish them; such writing was more for the purpose of clarifying my ideas. At one time I wrote a monthly column (Things I Hear) for the British magazine HiFi News. In those days I always managed to find something to write, and I hope it was interesting. But it was the pressure of the deadline that started the adrenalin flowing and forcefully cleared the writer’s block.

Unless one is paid for it, blogging is a different situation. There is no pressure for the writer to publish anything world shattering on his or her blog, or even to have a blog at all. In my case, friends who have lead the way have encouraged me to do this, but it is clear that many bloggers have no reason to blog other than an inner compulsion to share their thoughts with others gratuitously. For them, blogging is a modern form of vanity publishing, though rendered cheaper than in previous centuries by the Internet. I have decided to join the company of such publishers in what spare time I have, though I have no idea how this will develop.

Come back later, if you are curious…

Click on “About” to find out who and what I am…


© David Pickett and davidpickett, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to David Pickett and davidpickett with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Published in: on 3 June 2009 at 15:52  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://davidpickett.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/hello-new-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

